Region

You are here

Capitalism, Crisis and the Revolutionary Alternative

Location

zoom zoom , ON
Canada
Ontario CA

Capitalism, Crisis and the Revolutionary Alternative

An online conference of socialist ideas and strategy

Sunday, October 3, 2021
1:00 pm EST | 10:00 am PST

Register here:
https://bit.ly/2YR7e1n


Schedule:

OPENING SESSION:
1pm Eastern/ 10am Pacific
 
Capitalist Crisis: What is the revolutionary alternative?
Speaker: Chantal Sundaram - leading member of the International Socialists, a member of Quebec solidaire, and a long-time activist in movements against racism, lslamophobia, and in the labour movement.  

Breakout sessions (choose one of the two options)
 
BREAKOUT ONE: 2-3:15pm Eastern/ 11-12:15pm Pacific

Imperialism & global conflict

Speaker: Sid Lacombe - former national coordinator of the Canadian Peace Alliance which organized the movement against the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Member of the International Socialists

Can we stop climate catastrophe? 
Speakers: Brian Champ, co-author of Fighting back on Turtle Island: Indigenous sovereignty, the working class and anti-capitalism.
Aliya Hirji (she/her) is a social and climate justice activist based in so-called Toronto, Canada - the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Haudenosaunee, Huron-wendat, and Mississaugas of the New Credit. At Fridays for Future Toronto, she organizes global climate strikes, creates online actions, and leads a campaign pushing the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan to divest from fossil fuels. At Banking on a Better Future, she educates young people across the country on the fossil fuel investments of the Canadian Big 5 Banks and empowers them to pledge against banking with climate criminals.

BREAKOUT TWO (following 15 minute break) :3:30-4:45pm Eastern/ 12:30-1:45pm Pacific
 
Indigenous sovereignty, resistance & the Canadian state
Speakers: Skyler Williams
 -  Haudenosaunee Land Defender from Six Nations of the Grand River Territory, member of Ironworkers Local 736, organizer  at 1492 Landback Lane
Michelle Robidoux - is a Toronto based activist and a member of the International Socialists and co-author of Fighting back on Turtle Island: Indigenous sovereignty, the working class and anti-capitalism.
 
Capitalism, pandemic & workers resistance
Speakers: Nigel Barriffe, executive officer of Elementary Teachers of Toronto (ETT), a local of Elementary Teachers Federation of Ontario (ETFO). He is also a member of Ontario Education Workers United, a teacher activist group, and president of the Urban Alliance on Race Relations.
Carolyn Egan is the president of Steelworkers local 8300 and a member of the International Socialists Canada
 
CLOSING RALLY: 4:45-5:30pm Eastern/ 1:45-2:30pm Pacific
 
Socialism: Building a better world


Speaker: Faline Bobier, Long time member of the International Socialists and frequent contributor to the Socialist Worker newspaper. 

 

Dates: 
Sunday, October 3, 2021 - 01:00
Organized by: 
International Socialists

Featured Event

Events

Twitter

Visit our YouTube Channel for more videos: Our Youtube Channel
Visit our UStream Channel for live videos: Our Ustream Channel